Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #67 Right-Brained or Left-Brained

spinning-lady-brain-testDid you know your brain is made up of two parts – the right hemisphere and the left hemisphere. Both sides of your brain work together, but they can also act separately.

The right hemisphere of your brain controls the actions on the left side of your body. While the left hemisphere controls your right side. For example, when you raise your right hand to wave to a friend, your left hemisphere is controlling your hand. If you raise your left eyebrow, like Groucho Marx,  your right hemisphere is in charge.

Your left hemisphere helps you to process language – reading, writing, and speaking. It helps with reasoning and logic and math skills. It also helps to process scientific knowledge. Left-brain thinkers are critical thinkers.Left-Right Brain 2b-598x441

Your right hemisphere is responsible for creativity. Art and music are two activities that may come easy to a right-brain thinker. Reading emotions and expressing them are also dominant in a right-brain thinker. Folks with a dominant right brain may be out-of-the-box thinkers. They look at things differently. A box is confined space. It’s limited. When someone is thinking out-of-the-box more divergent thinking may occur.

Most people are either dominant right- or left-brain thinkers. Have you ever wondered which you are?

I’m definitely right-brain dominant. I’m a writer, an actor, a jewelry designer, and I’m a teacher – a creative teacher. Most of the activiRight Arrow1-left-blueties and projects in my classroom were teacher-made – designed and created by me to lure children into learning. I am always thinking out-of-the-box. I don’t know why – I just do. Guess it’s the darn right brain.

I’m definitely left-brain dominant. I’m a user of language – writing, Left Arrow thspeaking, reading. I’m logical and love to categorize everything. You should see my Excel and FileMaker Pro Data projects. If it moves, I’ll database it.

I love that my brain switches, constantly, between both my right and left hemisphere. It allows me to be versatile. It encourages my Exhausted Girl eM+CARTOON+TEARING+OUT+HAIRdivergent thinking, while still keeping me grounded. But sometimes it’s exhausting.

You may have been wondering why the young woman above is perpetually twirling. She is your test. Take a few moments and stare at her. You are using your right brain, if you see her turning clockwise. If she is turning counter-clockwise, then you are using your left brain. If you can see her switch back and forth, then you are using both sides of your brain – like me. Let me know.

I took a test at Chatterbean to test my left vs. right brain. again I scored a balanced brain. What more could I ask for?

Here’s my evaluation.

Are You a Right-Brain Thinker?

Your quiz score makes you: Balanced Thinker

Now that you’ve completed our enlightening quiz, you probably know you’re a mix of a right-brain thinker and a left-brain thinker! The best of both worlds!

(Roger Sperry was awarded the Nobel Prize for his brain-related work in 1981. If this topic fascinates you as it does me, you can learn more at these sites.)

Chatterbean

Which Way Do You Spin?

Right Brained Children in a Left Brained World

Please leave a Comment by simply clicking the blue words “Leave a Comment” below this post.

Feel free to Like my post. Click on the “Like” button below.

You can also Vote for my post by clicking on a star.

If you enjoy my blog, please pass it on to all your friends and they to theirs.

If you hate my blog, go ahead and send it to your enemies. I won’t mind.

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.)

August 13, 2013 - Posted by | TidBits About Donna | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. first clockwise – start at her neck and blink – she changes to counterclockwise

    Comment by Colleen Gallagher | August 27, 2014 | Reply

  2. This is the most unusual test I have ever seen. I am right brain, but can also see her spin counter clockwise. What am I concentrating on that makes her go the other way? A puzzler!

    Comment by William C. Jarvis | August 27, 2014 | Reply

    • William, it is a puzzler. Many people can ONLY see her spin right. Many people can ONLY see her spin left. Some can see her spin both ways.

      Donna O’Donnell Figurski
      survivingtraumaticbraininjury.com
      donnaodonnellfigurski.wordpress.com

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | August 27, 2014 | Reply


Leave a comment

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

The Daily Dahlia

Not so daily, but definitely Dahlia.