Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #68 Camp Across America – Letter to a Son

Chest th

Camp Across America

As David and I prepare to move our lives and our “stuff” across country to our new home, we are stumbling on many treasures that we “stuffed” into our memory trunks. Pictures of the children growing up,Jared awards they received at school, ribbons and medals they won from events on the soccer and track fields, their report cards, and most precious of all letters written both by them to us and us to them. The following letter is one small treasure.

Jared and I camped across the country the summer we drove his car from New Jersey to Santa Cruz before his sophomore year at the University of California at Santa Cruz.  (UCSC)  I fondly remember the trip.

Dear Jared,

How many moms are fortunate to have their own personal nature guide on a cross country trip? How many moms can boast that they spent their summer traveling with their son – camping no less? How many sons make their moms feel as special as you make me feel?

Our trip has come to an end, but the memories will continue to grow. For me it has been a glorious few weeks … weeks that I will never forget. The time we have spent together will always be precious to me. I try to think which part was the most special, but I am unable to because each day brought more and greater surprises. The flight of the red-tailed hawk, the bisonsCamping th ambling lazily across our path, the solitary whale, the night hawk… otherwise known as the night jar, the Brewers blackbird, the swallows, Wilson’s warbler and the meadowlark, as well as the brown pelican, which is my newest love, are just some of the new wonders I can now call my own. And, since it will not be an easy task to spot the pelican in inland New Jersey, I must soon return to the California coast where I left my heart behind.

Thank you for these special gifts that you have given to me. There won’t ever be a time that I glance into the sky and Turkey vulture-9see a turkey vulture that my mind won’t immediately be drawn to you and of our trip.

Jared, you are a very special person and a wonderful son. Always remember that I love you dearly.

Love Mom

August 31, 1995

Please leave a Comment by simply clicking the blue words “Leave a Comment” below this post.

Feel free to Like my post. Click on the “Like” button below.

You can also Vote for my post by clicking on a star.

If you enjoy my blog, please pass it on to all your friends and they to theirs.

If you hate my blog, go ahead and send it to your enemies. I won’t mind.

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.)

August 23, 2013 - Posted by | TidBits About Donna | , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Donna, Loved your latest blog….very sweet! Recently John found a letter I wrote to him on our honeymoon. I said that I had hoped we’d love each other as much in ten years as we did then…..and I’d hoped that we would always have our sense of humor. I guess 43 years would have seemed like an eternity………….back then. We still love each other (actually) much more than those early days….I guess like a fine wine we appreciate the process and savor the moments. Yes, and the absolute best part, we’ve been able to keep our sense of humor! When are you moving???? Send me your new address. We are going to MI to visit my mother, sister and brother-in-law and then to Florida to visit John’s parents. In October we are hiking across Italy following the path of St. Francis from Florence to Assisi and then to Rome. I will reactivate my blog closer to our departure. Have a good move. Love, Patti Date: Fri, 23 Aug 2013 15:47:21 +0000 To: pattijug@hotmail.com

    Comment by John & Patti Jug | August 23, 2013 | Reply

    • Patti, you and John are a match made in heaven. It doesn’t happen often. David and I are lucky like that too. I’ll look forward to reading your blog as you trek across Italy. What neat adventures you have!

      Hugs, Donna

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | August 25, 2013 | Reply

  2. Mom,
    That was an incredible trip! Thanks for sharing this letter. How many kids are lucky enough to have a mom as adventurous, open minded, and willing to camp across the country?! Love you!

    Comment by Jared | August 23, 2013 | Reply

    • Jared, one great memory is never having to cook, but having amazing dinners every night. You are such a good cook. Remember the migrating frogs in Idaho. So sad. How about our dash through Yellowstone because I wanted to see Old Faithful? It was a mini geyser. What memories do you have of the trip?

      Love, Mom

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | August 25, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

