Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

On School #32 Remembering Greg

I am reposting this from my website, donnaodonnellfigurski, in memory of a former first grade student, Greg, who left us too early ten years ago.

Greg was a good student and a happy child for most of his 1st grade year with me. His mother, Val, was my dynamic class mom. She could handle anything!

Then one day she told me she was worried. She was about to give Greg a brother, and he was upset about her going into the hospital. He was afraid she would not return. I told Val not to worry. I told Greg not to worry, too.

His mother was going into the hospital for a happy event. Greg was reassured and our whole class set out to write a book to welcome Greg’s new baby. (When all else fails – WRITE!) Greg also wrote his own book to welcome his new brother, David. (As David grew up, he landed on my classroom doorstep, twice – both in 1st grade and 3rd grade.)

About ten years after Greg was in my class, Val gave me some sad news. She told me that Greg was in the hospital. This time I couldn’t tell her not to worry, as I had done so many years ago. I could not tell Greg that either.

Greg was diagnosed with cancer. He was only 16. My memory of him stops there. But I remember him always. I remember his smile. I remember his fun-loving ways. I remember him six years old and in my 1st grade class. And, I miss him.

(Photo compliments of Me and Val.)

PS. Happy 20th birthday to David, Greg’s little brother who he was so worried about.

October 28, 2011 Posted by | On School | , , , , | 17 Comments

   

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

The Daily Dahlia

Not so daily, but definitely Dahlia.