Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings by Donna #67 I Lost My Best Friend

PATTY WILLIAMS STREIPS

(1951 – 2014)

  trish-dining-hall-1-2006


This is my friend, Patty Williams Streips. I call her Trish. No one else does. Only ME!

I met Trish many years ago when she worked in the Microbiology Department at the University of Rochester in Rochester, NY. in the same department as my husband, David. Trish and I have been best friends ever since. donna-&-trsih-estes-park-1We even lived in San Diego at the same time . . . before she moved to Louisville to marry Uldis. Although Trish lived in Louisville and we didn’t see each other often, our hearts were always linked.

Below is a poem I wrote for my . . .

             trishaanddonnawindriver2006
                 GIRLFRIEND

Though we don’t talk on the telephone,
Or see each other every day.
Our hearts, our minds, our souls,
Are not so far away.

You know I’ll be here for you.
And I know you’re there for me.
A friendship likes yours and mine,
Is treasured eternally.

You are my friend; and I am yours.
Oh . . . the secrets and joys we share!
I send my love, girlfriend,
To remind you that I care.

With love and wishes
for a happy birthday!
1/05/07

Donna

 

When Trish and I were together, we never stopped laughing. That’s what we did best together.

The cross-country miles never broke our bond. I’ve visited Trish and her family in Louisville many times through the years. One summer Trish and I even met at Lake Erie to camp for a week–a girl’s week out. We “pounded” our stakes into the sand of the beach, just a few hundred yards from Sara’s at the edge of Presque Isle. We arranged our door flaps only feet from each other so we could lean out and talk late into the night, and giggle too, of course. We spent all of our time together … talking and giggling.

Trish recently sent me a picture of herself at a baby shower with her friends. I smiled when I looked at it. She was laughing hysterically. I sent her this email:

Hey Trish,
Cool pict. Thanks for sending it.

You were doing what you do best … laughing!!!!

It made me laugh just to see you laugh. It’s contagious, Friend.

Love you.
Donna

 

She replied:

I laugh best when I am with you.

trish

 

Oh so true! So do I when I’m with her!

I will miss you, Girlfriend. And, as we ended every phone call or visit …

Love You!

trish-estes-park-1-2006

 

May 6, 2014 - Posted by | Musings by Donna | , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Donna, What a beautiful tribute to your friend. I am so sorry for your loss. Five years ago I lost one of my best friends. She too was my “laughing buddy”. We made each other laugh and I wondered if I would ever laugh quite the same again. Even now I can still hear her voice and her laugh. I think of here everyday. She lives on in my mind and heart and she is never far away. The decisions I make each day to live more fully and in the moment is because of her.
    You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Comment by John & Patti Jug | May 6, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you, Patti.
      Trish was so special. It’s hard to realize I will never be able to laugh with her again. Thank you for your wishes.

      Hugs,
      Donna

      Donna O’Donnell Figurski
      survivingtraumaticbraininjury.wordpress.com
      donnaodonnellfigurski.wordpress.com

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | May 6, 2014 | Reply

  2. You are blessed with wonderful memories!

    Nancy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Comment by Nancy McDonough | May 6, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks, Nance! I appreciate your thoughts. We are blessed when we have life-long friends to make memories with. Thanks for being my friend.

      Hugs,

      Donna

      Donna O’Donnell Figurski
      survivingtraumaticbraininjury.wordpress.com
      donnaodonnellfigurski.wordpress.com

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | May 6, 2014 | Reply

  3. Hugs from NJ!!!

    Comment by Helen | May 6, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you, Helen. Your acknowledgement is well-received.

      All best,

      Donna

      Donna O’Donnell Figurski
      survivingtraumaticbraininjury.wordpress.com
      donnaodonnellfigurski.wordpress.com

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | May 6, 2014 | Reply

  4. My sincere sympathy to you in the death of your very special friend. May the Comforter be with you and David at this time. As I grow older, I am reminded of the brevity of life and that Heaven is my forever home. I often tell my husband that Jesus is my First Best Friend. That makes Tim my Second and together we look forward to seeing our oldest son, John, again as he went Home at the age of 25. What a awesome, homecoming reunion that will be……. carol

    Comment by Timothy Carney | May 6, 2014 | Reply

    • Carol,

      Thank you so much for your kind thoughts. It is so hard to lose a loved one. I am so sorry about your son. Losing a child is probably just about the hardest loss. I’m glad you have your faith to comfort you.

      All best,

      Donna

      Donna O’Donnell Figurski
      survivingtraumaticbraininjury.wordpress.com
      donnaodonnellfigurski.wordpress.com

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | May 6, 2014 | Reply

  5. Donna, So sorry about the loss of your best friend. Your poem is beautiful. As you know, I lost one of my best friends, Linda, last year so I know the great sadness you are experiencing. Your wonderful memories of her will help you.
    Renee

    Comment by Renee | May 6, 2014 | Reply

    • Renee,

      Thank you so much for your kind words. Trish and go back to the early 1970s. She was actually a stand in god mother for my son. We’ve known each other for about 44 years. I do remember when Linda passed on and how sad you were. They both left us too soon.

      Missing you.
      Donna

      Donna O’Donnell Figurski
      survivingtraumaticbraininjury.wordpress.com
      donnaodonnellfigurski.wordpress.com

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | May 6, 2014 | Reply

  6. My love goes out to you, I have a friend I have known for over 60 years. No one knows me as well as she. Our friends can be the most precious people in our lives. You lost her to soon. You were not done with hher yet. My heart goes out to you at your loss.

    Comment by Colleen Gallagher | May 6, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

