Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #69 It’s Not MY Birthday!

It’s Not MY Birthday!

birthday cake th-1I always received a birthday call from my father on December 17th … but that’s NOT my birthday. My birthday’s December 7th – always has been. But my dad never called me on December 7th … and I never expected him to.

But on December 17th my phone would ring and I knew it would be him.

“Guess I forgot again – huh, Donna Marie?” he’d say.

“Yep, you did, Daddy.” Then I’d start to sing, “Happy Birthday to you. Happy Birthday, Dear Daddy!”birthday06a

My dad always forgot my birthday … but he always remembered it on December 17th – his birthday. It was fun pseudo-sharing the same birth day.

He won’t be calling today. He hasn’t called in a lot of years. But, that won’t stop me from reliving the memories of his calls. I’ll be remembering both of our birthdays today and whispering, “Happy Birthday, Daddy.”

Daddy & Donna

Please leave a Comment by simply clicking the blue words “Leave a Comment” below this post.

Feel free to Like my post.

You can also Vote for my post by clicking on a star.

If you enjoy my blog, please pass it on to all your friends and they to theirs.

If you hate my blog, go ahead and send it to your enemies. I won’t mind.

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.)

December 17, 2013 - Posted by | TidBits About Donna | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Very Sweet Mom. Happy Birthday!

    Comment by jared | December 17, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks, Jared. There are just some memories that you will always carry with you. For me, this is one of them. My Dad was a character. I miss him.

      Love, Mom

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | December 17, 2013 | Reply

      • wow is that uncle john, i haven’t seen a pic of him in a long time. and as for you donna thats how i remember you before last jan.

        Comment by Edward Pavlik | December 18, 2013

      • Eddie, yes, that is my Dad. But he was called Jack. So Uncle Jack to you. There was an Uncle John too, but he was married to Aunt Irene.

        Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | December 18, 2013

  2. This comment was from my friend, Patti McLaughlin Jugenheimer, which was left on Facebook.

    “Happy Birthday” to both of you on both the 7th & the 17th…..Thanks for sharing such a sweet memory. I know you miss him very much. He must have been very proud of you. Know that he is smiling on you every day!

    Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | December 19, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

