Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #66 Dewey Decimal System

Where Do I Fit Into the Dewey Decimal System?

(Reposted and Tweaked from My Website.)
January 2010
SpaceFem.com

I love books. Reading and writing are some of my favorite activities. I love browsing though books stores. The library is the BEST! It’s free! I think I am its best client. I marvel at how librarians keep so many books in order? Simple! They use the Dewey Decimal System.

The Dewey Dewey Decimal thDecimal System, created by Melvil Dewey in 1876, is used to categorize books on library shelves. I am so grateful to Mr. Dewey because what a mess libraries would be without his expertise. They would be total chaos.

With Dewey’s system, anyone can locate books about Science in the 500s, Religion in the 200s, and Language in the 400s. When I’m feeling political or caught up in the fervor of world issues, I would search for books in the 900 section. If I’m interested in learning about Philosophy or Psychology, I’d look in the 100 section. Have you ever wondered what you would be about if you were a book? If you could be catalogued? Have you ever wondered where you would fit in in Dewey’s system? I admit – I have.

Alive BookCartoon3I’m very language/word focused. I like to tell stories and hear them. I particularly like to write stories and I love to enact stories on the stage. So, I guess I would be most comfortable in Section 700 – the Arts. Of course, I also love spoken languages – Spanish in particular. That would land me in the 400s.

Where do you fit into the Dewey Decimal System?

Try the activity at SpaceFem and let me know.

495 Languages of East & Southeast Asia

Donna Dewey

Find your Dewey Decimal Section at:

Spacefem.com

My chart is right on! At least the part about Language and Linguistics. And … I do find East and Southeast Asia fascinating. Though to be entirely true, it would be anything Latino that captivates me.

Please leave a Comment by simply clicking the blue words “Leave a Comment” below this post.

Feel free to Like my post. Click on the “Like” button below.

You can also Vote for my post by clicking on a star.

If you enjoy my blog, please pass it on to all your friends and they to theirs.

If you hate my blog, go ahead and send it to your enemies. I won’t mind.

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.)

August 10, 2013 - Posted by | TidBits About Donna | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

