Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings by Donna #62 The Little Things

It’s the Little Things …

It’s the little things that count – that make a strong friendship – an even stronger marriage. Sure diamonds are fun to get. So are rubies, sapphires, opals, and pearls – so beautiful in necklaces, rings, bracelets or earrings. But, it’s the little things that say, gems-hi“I love you and I respect you, and I really, really care for you.” It’s the little things that show the love.

Every morning David and I greet each other with an embrace and a kiss. On the weekends, I am usually up, showered, dressed, and downstairs before him, paying bills, checking email, and making our favorite oatmeal with Hershey’s dark chocolate powder and cinnamon. (They are good for your health: dark chocolate – cardiovascular health.oatmeal It’s a powerhouse for antioxidants. Milk chocolate is my nemesis. Too bad it’s full of calories. Cinnamon has been touted to lower blood sugar in type 2 diabetics.) When I hear David making his way slowly down the stairs, I anticipate our good morning. I know he is going to hug me, and I him. Then when day ends and we crawl into bed, I know he will hold me as I curl up in his arms.man-hugging-woman3 Sometimes we hold hands as we drift off to sleep.

It’s the little things – the foyer light welcoming me home after a late night working at the theater or the emptied dishwasher or my jeans and shirts washed, dried, and folded waiting for me to put away. The simple words “I love you” that end each phone conversation or the random, “I love you!” I love you more!” I love you more most!” or three hand squeezes, our secret vow of love, make me sigh.

These are the little things that mean so much. They are the little things that count … that make me feel special.

i-love-you-more-turn2

Please leave a Comment by simply clicking the blue words “Leave a Comment” below this post.

Feel free to Like my post.

You can also Vote for my post by clicking on a star.

If you enjoy my blog, please pass it on to all your friends and they to theirs.

If you hate my blog, go ahead and send it to your enemies. I won’t mind.

(Clip art compliments of Bing.)

June 30, 2013 - Posted by | Musings by Donna | , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Donna, I love reading your blogs….I agree it’s the little things that say, “I love you.” We find that kindness and gratitude are the true secret to having a happy marriage and a wonderful life. Congratulations to both you and David for being an example to all marriages.

    Comment by Patti j. | June 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Patti,

      I agree with you! Kindness and gratitude are so important in a marriage – in any relationship, actually. I would also include respect. I think respect is a key characteristic in every healthy, happy relationship. I am sure there are many more.

      Does anyone else want to add more characteristics to a happy relationship?

      Hugs, Donna

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | June 30, 2013 | Reply

  2. Donna, I love reading your blogs….I agree it’s the little things that say, “I love you.” We find that kindness and gratitude are the true secrets to having a happy marriage and a wonderful life. Congratulations to both you and David for being an example to all marriages.

    Comment by Patti j. | June 30, 2013 | Reply

  3. Beautiful.

    Comment by Colleen | June 30, 2013 | Reply

  4. Hi Donna,
    I thought I would check your blog today to see how you and David are doing and found two of the most beautiful musings on love and marriage. I am actually forwarding this one to my children.
    You are such a beautiful person and although, we are not in touch as much please know you and David are in my thoughts and my heart.
    Steve and I continue moving forward.

    Much love and many blessings,
    Judy

    Comment by Judy | July 6, 2013 | Reply

  5. Hi Judy,

    You and Steve are on my mind a lot. I wish we lived closer so we could spend time together. You and Steve have the same kind of marriage and that is so sweet.

    Many hugs and lots of love,

    Donna

    Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | July 6, 2013 | Reply

  6. Yes we do:).
    Much love,
    Judy

    Comment by Judy | July 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

