Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings by Donna #61 Mansion Dancing – Under the Stars

Manion at WestportI never dreamed that David and I would ever dance again – outside of our lessons, of course. But, in a recent trip to Westport Massachusetts, to spend time with my son, Jared, his fiancé, Emily, and her family, we found ourselves staying in a mansion … only feet from the Atlantic Ocean (Dancers thbut that’s another post). Our host, Susan, was beyond gracious, concerned about our every comfort. On our second night there, she threw a big family party on her extensive patio and even more expansive grounds overlooking the ocean; and she invited us. We stopped in about midnight.

The partygoers were huddled around the fire-ring … music still blaring. Jared and Emily began to dance on the patio. I swayed. David sat in a tall patio chair. Then the unthinkable happened. David asked me to dance. I hadn’t expected that. David can barely walk – dancing had not been on his radar for more than seven years (outside of the studio). I looked at him expectantly. Was he kidding, being facetious? No! With a huge grin, I answered, “Yes!”

We didn’t Cha-Cha or Swing, as we had learned in our Ballroom dance classes. ballroom_dancing_stars_swinging_lg_clrWe didn’t attempt the Fox Trot or even the Waltz, though Paula, our dance instructor, would have been proud of us if we had. But, we did our own dance. We swayed back and forth – never moving our feet. We called it the “TBI Sway” (Traumatic Brain Injury Sway). We swayed with my head resting against David’s shoulder and his hand gently placed at the small of my back. We swayed with him holding on to me for dear life … for balance. We danced under the stars with the sounds of ocean waves lapping the shore, with smiles on our lips and remembrances of days gone by … and the promise of our days ahead.dance under stars

Please leave a Comment by simply clicking the blue words “Leave a Comment” below this post.

Feel free to Like my post.

You can also Vote for my post by clicking on a star.

If you enjoy my blog, please pass it on to all your friends and they to theirs.

If you hate my blog, go ahead and send it to your enemies. I won’t mind.

(Clip art compliments of Bing.)

June 29, 2013 - Posted by | Musings by Donna, Traumatic Brain Injury - TBI | , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. BEAUTIFUL!! Simply beautiful!

    Comment by Kathy | June 29, 2013 | Reply

  2. Just Beautiful Donna!

    Comment by Ermira | June 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks. Ermira. I’m so glad you are reading my blog. See you at the library soon.

      Donna

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | June 30, 2013 | Reply

  3. Makes me smile and cry at the same time. You two are a beautiful example of love!

    Comment by Patti j. | June 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Patti,

      Thank you. I feel the same way about you and John. And … if I made you cry and smile at the same time, I have done my “writing” job.

      Love, Donna

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | June 30, 2013 | Reply

  4. Donna this is absolutely one of the most beautiful and romantic stories I have heard…I had tears in my eyes, You are a very talented lady and I am proud to say I know you. Thank you for sharing.

    Comment by Eileen Conboy | June 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Eileen,

      Thank you! You are so kind to read my blog and even kinder to respond. I am glad my words touched you. It was definitely a tender moment.

      Hugs, Donna

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | June 30, 2013 | Reply

  5. Such a touching love story, but no story, this is real. Holding each other is the greatest dance of all. I love the way you write. It allows me to see you together, hearing the the water along with the music. It wasn’t rock-n-roll was it. Just kidding. Most romantic reading I have read and felt in a long time.

    Comment by Colleen | June 30, 2013 | Reply

  6. So beautiful, miracles do happen…

    Comment by Jean Forest | June 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Jean, thank you so much for your sweet comment. Miracles are good.

      Best, Donna

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | July 4, 2013 | Reply

  7. Donna, we have much more in common that just coming from the East Coast. Can’t wait to see you at the Tucson Festival of Books this Weekend. You have my #s cell and booths. text me if you can’t find me.

    Comment by Ethel Lee-Miller | March 12, 2014 | Reply

    • Hi Ethel,

      Thanks for visiting my site. I’m really looking forward to meeting with you this weekend, too. I will search you out among the hordes.

      All best. Donna

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | March 12, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

