Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings by Donna #60 Honoring Fathers

Father's Day th

It’s Father’s Day! A day set aside to remember to honor our fathers. Too often days and weeks and months go by when we don’t see, hear, or talk to our fathers. That’s the consequences of families torn apart by miles and busy lives.

When my dad, Donna & DaddyJack O’Donnell, was still of this earth, we talked every few months – he in Phoenix; I, bordering New York City. But, he was not much for the phone. After a few moments, I knew he’d say, “Well, Donna Marie, this is costing you a lot of money.” Though I’d assure him it was my dime, it meant nothing to him. His mission was to get off the phone in record time. I cherished those few Hankmoments each time we spoke, and I miss him desperately. But, thankfully I can rely on my happy memories of him. Daddy, I will always love you and you’ll always be in my heart.

Another man who I call “Dad” is my wonderful father-in-law. How can one girl get so lucky to have two special father-figures in her life? Hank Figurski is still going strong at 92 years old. We enjoy chatting on the phone and texting. He’s one “hip” f-i-l. In our younger days, we even went dancing together.

My husband, David, at the age of 23, fathered our daughter; and at 28 years old, our son. He is a wonderful father to them – a man they can look up David & Donna Father's Day for FBto – a man with grace and dignity.

Happy Father’s Day to all the special men in my life

Please leave a Comment by simply clicking the blue words “Leave a Comment” below this post.

Feel free to Like my post.

You can also Vote for my post by clicking on a star.

If you enjoy my blog, please pass it on to all your friends and they to theirs.

If you hate my blog, go ahead and send it to your enemies. I won’t mind.

(Clip art compliments of Bing.)

June 16, 2013 - Posted by | Musings by Donna | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Happy Fathers Day!

    jared

    Comment by jared | June 16, 2013 | Reply

  2. my father has been gone over 40 yrs. I miss him today as much as the day he died. I am crying just to think of him. An odd quirk of his, he did not like to talk on the phone. When he was done-he hung up, no good by, no nothing. As if you were in the same room and he had finished his sentence. I don’t remember him ever saying hello or goodbye on the phone. But his love was there even if not spoken.

    Comment by Colleen | June 18, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

