Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings by Donna #52 Pig and Rat – an Odd Couple

I married a PIG!

Pig thI know you must think what a horrible, awful person I am calling my husband a PIG. But, it’s true. I can’t help it and David would agree with me.

Anyone who knows David would say he is the epitome of a gentleman – well-mannered, courteous, kind, and polite. He is strong of conviction with a resilient nature. He is loyal and holds his friends dear. And I am fortunate to be his friend. BUT, I stand my ground.

He is a PIG!

Image

You probably think I’m a RAT saying such nasty things about the man I love. And, you would be right! But I think I’m a very “charming” RAT.

I have been accused of working hard – sometimes too hard … and I’m definitely a perfectionist.

I’m not an overzealous spender of money, but I get what I want. It just doesn’t have to be the best, the name-brand, or the most extravagant.rat th

This RAT does not like to gossip. Any gossip she may inadvertently hear, never passes her lips.

I’m an ambitious RAT – no doubt of that. Whether it’s my writing (children’s picture book manuscripts or my memoir, Prisoner …, about David and the Traumatic Brain Injury he suffered in 2005, The Year of the Rooster), my jewelry line, or my life in the theater (actor, assistant stage manager, director assistant, stage hand, and director of a play that I adapted from one of my children’s book manuscripts, which was presented on stage in 2012, the Year of the Dragon), I strive for success.

I’ve accomplished many goals. I’ve had a wonderful thirty-year career teaching first and third graders. I’m proud of the four stories written for 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade students, which Scholastic published in Literacy Place 2000, snake thThe Year of the Dragon. But, success is subjective. And this RAT won’t be satisfied until every last picture book manuscript is published and Prisoner … is on the bookshelves of the world. Maybe it will happen this year, 2013, in The Year of the Snake.

Raton 6

David Year of Pig

I am David … and I approve the above blog post.

So you see, I am a RAT married to a PIG.

We both, RAT and PIG, wish you Happy New Year … in the Chinese way.

(PS  Discover your animal at: What’s Your Chinese Zodiac Animal?)

Please leave a comment by simply clicking the blue words “Leave a Comment” below this post to see how many Rats and Pigs and Roosters and Dragons are out there.

If you enjoy my blog, please pass it on to all your friends and they to theirs.

If you hate my blog, go ahead and send it to your enemies. I won’t mind.

(Chinese Zodiac Table compliments of DNAinfo.com.)

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.)

(Picture compliments of ME.)

February 13, 2013 - Posted by | Musings by Donna | , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Well done! Made me smile 🙂

    Comment by Kathy Anderson | February 15, 2013 | Reply

  2. Loveyour muses-I must also be a rat.

    Comment by Colleen Gallagher | February 15, 2013 | Reply

  3. Thanks, Kathy. Glad you enjoyed my post.

    Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | February 20, 2013 | Reply

  4. Colleen, yes you are a RAT, just like me and a hundred + other Villa Girls.

    Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | February 20, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

