Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Anything Writing #1 History of the Children’s Writers Workshop

We were all very sad to see the WRITERS CLUB on AOL dissolve, and especially our CHILDREN’S WRITERS WORKSHOP. I had been involved since 1994 while Anne LeMieaux, (Swan522) Roland Smith, (RSmith) and Barbara (TwisterB) were moderating. When Barbara retired, I stepped into her position as Greeter for Anne and Roland. Some time later Anne and Roland retired, turning the chat over to Marilyn Singer, (WriterBabe). I continued as Greeter and Chuck Galey, (CGaley) came on board as my back-up. Then he eventually moved into the co-Host position. This made way for Sue Eden, (BOEDEN) to cover Chuck’s vacated position as she took over as my back-up. During this entire time our silent partner, Joan Holub, (JOANWRITE) faithfully logged each chat and uploaded it to our archived library. I know that many of you are not able to attend the chat in person, but I’m aware that the libraries are well used. As a team, Marilyn, Chuck, Sue, Joan, and I discussed a variety of ways to keep the chat alive and intact, but AOL made it very difficult for us. Although they readily offered another forum area where we could open our workshop, they required us each to take additional hosting courses. (AOL COLLEGE ;)) Since ours are purely voluntary positions and since we have each been in our respective positions for many years, we found this offensive. Unfortunately AOL would not budge on their requirements so it was either take the courses or allow the chat to slip into cyber blackness.

Fortunately for me, this changeover occurred during the summertime while I was not teaching 1st grade, so I decided to bite the bullet, take the additional 14 hours of classes, (I already had 12 hours.) and move the chat to its new home at CAREERS & WORKPLACE. Sue, who was also required to take additional classes, agreed to join me as the Greeter for the chat, while I act as Host/Moderator.

Many years later AOL had another drastic change and Sue and I handed the chat over to a faithful attendee, Carolyn M. Johnson (LynWriteBk). You can find Lyn hosting the Children’s Writers Workshop at Pro Writers Workshop on AOL each Thursday night at 9:00 P.M. You won’t be disappointed if you stop by Lyn’s chat. She offers valuable information on the many topics of writing for children.

Phhewww– History lesson is over. But, I wanted you to understand how the CHILDREN’S WRITERS WORKSHOP has evolved since, I believe, its beginning in the early 1990s. If I have inadvertently omitted anyone involved in the chat’s history, I greatly apologize.

09/09/11

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.)

September 9, 2012 - Posted by | Anything Writing | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

