Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #53 Stranger Piercings!

STRANGER
PIERCINGS!
UPPER LIP FRENULUM! SCUMPER!

Whatever you want to call it.
It makes me SMILE!

One day I walked the streets of New York City with my friend, Monique. We found ourselves in the Village. Our steps took us to a storefront called Venus Modern Body Arts. We were drawn in. We stared at the counters filled with jewels and gems . . . opals, diamonds, sterling silver beads. Jewels for your ears, eyebrows, and tongues.

Gems for you navel, nose, and upper lip frenulum. UPPER LIP FRENULUM?? What’s that? I didn’t know what it was either. But after some research on the web, I learned that it is the tiny flap of skin that attaches your upper lip to your gums above your top teeth.

Well, anyhow Monique had this piercing done several years ago and her face lights up every time she smiles.

So, of course, I wanted one, too. If you look closely, you can see the little bead that rests on my teeth. Monique has a tiny diamond, which tips the top of her teeth, too. Unfortunately, as a starter, I can only get the stainless steel bead, until the piercing heals, but at least it matches my nose bead. Oh, the nose bead is another story . . . So some weeks passed and I finally got up the nerve to change my starter bead to a blue ice gem. I wanted my gem to match Monique’s . . . well almost. Hers is clear like a diamond, while mine is blue ice.. Monique searched the web and ordered mine from Germany. I couldn’t wait until it arrived.

Off to the piercers again for the change. I did not have enough courage to try to change it myself.

                                      

Unfortunately, I no longer wear my scrumper. I accidentally pulled it out in the Sky Harbor Airport in Phoenix. OUCH! And without Monique here to encourage me to have it replaced and knowing that it hurt – yes it did – a little, I haven’t had the nerve to re-pierce it.

Maybe I will some day. I miss it.

(Photos compliments of ME.)

February 26, 2012 - Posted by | TidBits About Donna | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Oh you brave soul. I’ll stick to ear piercings, Donna 🙂

    Comment by Kathleen Richardson | February 26, 2012 | Reply

    • Kathleen, that was the extent of my piercings. No more of those to come.

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | February 27, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

