Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #52 Strange Happenings

STRANGE!
PIERCINGS!
NOSE RING! NOSE BEAD! NOSE DOT!

They all amount to the same thing . . . a hole in your head … nose!

My daughter, Kiersten was visiting last April (2005) when she said, “Mom, I want to get my nose pierced.” I looked at her as if she were nuts . . . not an uncommon mother/daughter look. Then she told me she wanted to get her daughter’s nose pierced, too. “OK!” I thought. “I’ll call your bluff.” I told her if they were going to get their noses pierced, then I would, too. Now, she called mine and said, “Let’s go!” So I did!

I braced myself. I got up my nerve. I only had to keep it until I was seated in the piercer’s chair. Unfortunately, or maybe lucky for me, the piercing studio was closed. Our window of time was also closed, since Kiersten had to go back to New Mexico. “DARN!” Just when I thought I could really do this. But the seed was planted and it wiggled just beneath the surface of my mind.

Betty ... she made me do it! Well . . . she held my hand anyway.

Then, Betty, a friend of mine, came to visit and gave me frog earrings. They matched hers. But I didn’t have enough holes in my ears, so she persuaded me to pierce three more. So, when we went to Erie, we headed straight to Piercing Pagoda. Of course, getting my ears pierced reminded me of my desire to get my nose pierced. (Sounds a little like If You Give a Mouse a Cookie— doesn’t it?) The next evening Betty and I went to Buddha’s — a little nervous and a lot scared. (I could have gone to Ink Assassin or Mad Mike’s, but Buddha’s seemed a little more sane. Actually, another time I did go to Ink Assassin and spoke with the piercer, Missy, who was very knowledgeable about her craft.) Anyhow, thirty minutes later I walked out of Buddha’s with a hole in my nose, feeling a little woozy, and a lot like I must be out of my mind, but loving every minute of it.

It didn’t take Kiersten long after she got back home to find her own piercing studio. And now we have matching nose beads. We’re mirror images – mine on the left – hers on the right . . . mother/daughter style! 🙂

(Photos compliments of ME.)

(I still have my piercing. Kiersten does not.)

February 23, 2012 - Posted by | TidBits About Donna | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. That proves it. Kiersten is smarter that you are.

    Comment by John | February 24, 2012 | Reply

    • Knew I could count on you for a response on this one, little brother
      . 🙂

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | February 25, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

