Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Living in Third Grade #3 A Book at Your Fingertips

Here is a WIKI note I wrote to my third graders last spring. (2011) In it I recommend many great books for third graders (and any child around that age). My third graders also suggested their favorite books and wrote a short blurb about their favorite book. As usual, their names have been changed to protect the infamous. (They chose animals. color, or flower names.) I hope you will try some of these books.

Books You Will Love!

When I was your age, I loved to read. Books were my favorite things in the world. I loved to read in my bed every night. I used to smuggle a flashlight under my covers. After my mom or dad tucked me in and kissed me goodnight, out came my book.

(Don’t worry! My mom knew. So did my dad.)

When I grew up, my love for reading grew right along with me. I still love to read and I still take a book to bed with me. Instead of a flashlight, I use a book light, which clamps right onto my book. This summer I bought an IPad, so it comes to bed with me now. I love it.

Here are some of my favorite books from when I was a child your age. I hope you will like them too. If you haven’t read them … get started. Don’t wait. Join the fun!

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White,
The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene
Trixie Belden series by Kathryn Kenny
Bobbsey Twins series by Laura Lee Hope

Here are some great titles that are written today. See how many you have read.

Cam Jansen series by David Adler
Superfudge by Judy Blume
Tales Of A Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume
Freckle Juice by Judy Blume
The Chocolate Touch by Patrick Catling
Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary
Henry Huggins by Beverly Cleary
Charlie And The Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
James And The Giant Peach by Roald Dahl
Matilda by Roald Dahl
Polk Street School books by Patricia Reilly Giff

KIDDLE Suggestions:

Do you have a favorite book? One that you just love and want everyone to read? Then drop a suggestion in our WIKI basket in our classroom and I can add your suggestion to our list. Don’t forget to tell us a little bit about the book.

Frankly Frannie by A. J. Stern is about a girl who comes home from school and wants to change her name. by Rabbit

Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl Mr. Fox is a fox who steals things from his neighbors, the meanest farmers around. Their names are Boggis, Bean, and Bunce. The farmer’s try to take their revenge by digging up the fox’s home. by Shark

Mrs. Jeepers is Missing by Debbie Dadey and Marcia Thornton Jones – A teacher named Mrs. Jeepers has invited her students for a barbecue. The kids are Eddie, Howie, Liza and Melody. by Lion

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney – There is a kid who has a brother who is mean. His brother did bad things to him. by Gold

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein – There was a boy, Jack, who loved a tree. The tree loved him back. by Monkey

Good Work, Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish – is about Amelia trying to do her best job as a maid. by Chipmunk

Kate Larkin the Bone Expert by Lindsey Tate – is about a girl who broke her arm. She went to the hospital and had to stay overnight. Then she got a cast and had nothing to do. by Stingray

Merry Christmas, Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish – Amelia Bedelia always want to succeed at being a good housekeeper. but she always gets mixed up. When Christmas is just around the corner,will she get her work finished or will she get a lump of coal from Santa? by Violet

Ivy Green Cootie Queen – is about a girl who doesn’t like to read and she has to write a big, fat book report. by Dolphin

Baby Mouse by Jennifer & Matthew Holm – is a story about a little girl mouse. She wants to be popular at school. by Cheetah

Magic Tree House by Mary Pope Osbourne – is about a boy and a girl named Jack and Annie who are brother and sister. They live in Frog Creek, Pennsylvania. One day they find a magic tree house, but they do not know it is magic. by Silver

My Weird School Daze by Dan Gutman – is about a kid named A.J. who really hates school. His teachers always act weird. by Tiger

James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl – is about a boy named James who goes into a peach and has adventures. by Coyote

Gargoyles Don’t Drive School Buses by Debbie Dadey and Marcia Thornton Jones – There are four kids named Eddie, Howie, Liza, and Melody. Their school bus came. There was a strange new bus driver named Mr. Stone. The kids thought he was a gargoyle. by Lion

Anne of Green Gables by Mr. Mathew and his family wanted to adopt a little boy for a month. When he went to the airport, the man who worked there told him there was a little girl there for him – not a boy. The little girl and Mr. Mathew went home, and his family was very mad; but not Mr. Mathew. He really liked her. by Rabbit

Just Grace and the Snack Attack by Charise Mericle Harper is about Grace who talks about he best friend, Mimi, potato chips, and about a zine. She also talks about how to be a Chicago hot dog. by Chipmunk

Dear Readers:
If you have any good books you would like to recommend, please add them in the comment area.

Happy Reading!

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.)

December 23, 2011 - Posted by | Living in 3rd Grade | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hello, from a children author in Concord, Ca. Helping three local schools in my area from my book sales
    Here’s book I wrote for third graders on up.
    the Nest That Could Fly – http://www.freewebs.com/william2233/thenestthatcouldflybook.htm
    yes, read it for free

    Comment by william2233william sawyers (Bill) | July 1, 2012 | Reply

    • Bill,

      I took a peek at your website. Lots of good stuff there. I particularly liked how you described your job as Head Custodian. You really seem to like it and find the humor in the daily antics of the kids. Looking, seriously, for a 25 cent ring for a child is so important. I bet the kids love you. I was a 1st and/or 3rd grade teacher for 30 years. I totally understand.

      Donna

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | July 1, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

