Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

On School #33 You Can’t Put a Price on Teaching

Nicholas Stratigopoulos, a fellow blogger and a new teacher to the profession, posted an article, Appreciation for Educators, on his site educationisphysical. I’d heard various versions of this concept many times throughout my career. Here is my version, which is pertinent to my area of the country.

A Teacher’s REAL Worth

Sometimes I wonder what my life would have been like, if I chosen to be a babysitter … instead of a teacher. Babysitting is a much, more lucrative job.

If the school board agreed to pay me a babysitter’s salary, I promise I would throw in reading, math, science, social studies, art, music, physical education, and handwriting … for FREE. I’d even do morning, lunch, and recess duty; and I’d be sure to hang out in the school yard for an extra ten minutes after school each day to be sure that all of my students are safely delivered to the loving arms of their guardians. I’d offer extra help after school too and come in early in the morning to tutor students who are struggling. I’d pat kids on the back and wipe their sniveling noses when they scrape a knee or elbow, and I’d put on a Flintstone or a caterpillar or super hero bandaid … or maybe just a heart-one, to make them feel better. I’d crawl on the floor or plow through the half-eaten apples in the lunch-time trash cans to help them look for their lost teeth before sending them to the nurse for their fancy certificate. I’d be a referee when Johnny takes Timmy’s new toy truck at recess and won’t give it back. I’d lend my shoulder to cry on when Susie tells Mary she has a new best friend. I’d correct papers and design lessons way after the dismissal bell rings and into the wee hours of the morning at home just to be ready for the next day’s fun and games. I’d sit through hours of faculty meetings each week and come back at night for Back-To-School-Night and Literacy Night and Games Night and Science Fairs and Art Shows and PTA parties and … parent/teacher conferences to tell the parents how wonderful their children are – because they Really are. If they would pay me a babysitter salary, I would do all of that … for FREE. I promise!

Babysitter fees in my NYC area are between $10.00 and $15.00 an hour per child. I could have probably worked just a few years, retired by age thirty-five, and been a multi-millionaire.

Too bad babysitting was not my life’s chosen profession. I just love teaching too much.

The way I figure it for my New York City area:

$10.00 Babysitter Fee:

25 children/class (Salary can be adjusted. Just give or take five children either way.)
6.5 hours/day
$10.00/hour/child
184 school calendar days

25 children x $10.00/hour/child = $250.00/hour for 25 children
$250.00/hour for 25 children x 6.5 hours per day = $1,625.00/day
$1,625.00/day x 184 school calendar days = $299,000.00/year

I’ll sign! Where’s the dotted line?

I’m worth it!

$15.00 Babysitter Fee:

25 children/class (Salary can be adjusted. Just give or take five children either way.)
6.5 hours/day
$15.00/hour/child
184 school calendar days

25 children x $15.00/hour/child = $375.00/hour for 25 children
$375.00/hour for 25 children x 6.5 hours per day = $2,437.50/day
$2,437.50/day x 184 school calendar days = $448,500.00/year

I’ll sign! Where’s the dotted line?

I’m worth it!

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.)

October 29, 2011 - Posted by | On School | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. graciouswolfpe reblogged this on educationisphysical and commented: Donna, once more I couldn’t help but reblog another one of your brilliant posts. It’s true, you can’t put a price on teaching and I’m certain I speak for myself and countless others when I say that it’s thoroughly enjoyable reading your rendition of “A Teacher’s REAL Worth”.

    Comment by graciouswolfpe | October 31, 2011 | Reply

    • Nick, reblog away! I am flattered that you find my blogs interesting enough to want to share on your very interesting blog.

      Donna

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. Nicholas,

    Thank you so much for your kind words. It’s makes me really happy to know that you are enjoying my writing.

    Donna

    Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | October 31, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

