Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings by Donna #36 A Computer Nightmare – Boredomfree

I’ve been haunting the Apple store – spending hours and hours with my new computer and IPad. Taking lessons on the IPad, which I love, and troubleshooting a billion problems on my new Mac Air computer, which I hate – the problems – NOT the Air. I love the Air.

When the “geniuses” did a data transfer from my old G5 Mac computer to my new Air, they converted the data to new programs, unreadable by the Air. They got rid of some programs, too, making it impossible to open other files. The whole thing is a mess.

You might think … at least your data is secure on your old computer. You might think that … but NO. They had to upgrade that computer in order to make the data transfer, wiping out many programs there and rendering my files useless. Those files consist of twenty years of writing, all of my picture book manuscripts, – about 50 or more – my database program, which includes my reunion data … and so much more, recipes, books read.

Had they explained this possible massive data loss, I can surely assure you that I would not have chosen this route. But, alas, I was not informed, which leaves me ensnared in this computer nightmare.

Fortunately all may not be lost. David took a sample from each problem area to his lab and found the documents will open on his “old” computer there. Thank goodness! So, I could spend the next ten years of my life in his lab recovering all of my data. Something to look forward to. At least I will never have to face boredom.

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.com.)

October 19, 2011 - Posted by | Musings by Donna | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. oh no!!!

    Comment by Growing Flowers | October 20, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

