Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Teachers Pets #1 Welcome to Teacher’s Pets


Hi, my name is Donna O’Donnell Figurski, (author, educator, and book reviewer)

                                      I love children’s books,
all kinds.
BUT, I especially love picture books.
I love to read them.
I love to write them.
AND now . . .
I love to review them.

144-4443_img.jpg__donna_2


I have authored the column, TEACHER’S PETS on SmartWriters.com since 2002. 
My reviews have a different twist than do most book reviews I read. I work with a team of elementary-aged school children, called KIDDLE CRITers, who review books with me. We meet about once a month after school to read and discuss newly published children’s picture books. The KIDDLE CRITers team consists of about seven to fifteen children ranging in ages from 6 to 12 years old. They are enthusiastic critics and one section of my online review, called FROM the MOUTHS of KIDDLE CRITers, includes the insightful and sometimes hilarious comments by the children.

My nearly thirty years as a first or third grade teacher has given me the experience to design lessons for teachers to use with the books that I review. This section is called, TEACHER TALK. I also suggest additional books, as well as two or three websites, which teachers may use to compliment the reviewed book. Of course, there is also my review, too. 

The reviews can also be found in my column at SMARTWRITERS.com

Look for TEACHER’S PETS in thesidebar under FOR EDUCATORS. or scroll down the page until you meet my frog logo. Simply click on the frog to take you to my column. See you there.

Donna

P.S. 
If you would like to have your book considered for review by the KIDDLE CRITers review team, please contact me at Neelyf@aol.com.

Although I cannot promise that every book will be reviewed, I will try my best to feature as many books as possible.

(Photo compliments of ME.) 

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.com.)

(This picture was taken when I first began the review column. You might have noticed my hair was a little darker and a little longer than my current picture. I was a tad bit younger, too. Such is life. It keeps moving  on.)

October 1, 2011 - Posted by | Teacher's Pets: Book Reviews | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Go here to read the rest: Teachers Pets #1 Welcome to Teacher's Pets « Donna O'Donnell … […]

    Pingback by Teachers Pets #1 Welcome to Teacher's Pets « Donna O'Donnell … | Children Picture Book | October 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

