Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #39 Hugging Cousins

I hugged Carol R. and Ronnie and his wife, Joan. I hugged Debbie and her husband Bob. I hugged Danny and Cheryl and Michelle, and last I hugged Jimmy … and they all hugged me back.

What fun it was to pass all those hugs around! We are huggin’ cousins … cousins who I had not see in years – too many to count. I think the last time we had visited each other was in our early 20s for some of us. For others it was when we were kids – knee-high to a grasshopper … as they say. And for their spouses, well this was the first time I got to hug many of them. Some of the folks in this picture are siblings and my spouse, David, but most are cousins.

In some kind of order from left to right – Carol Ribar, Jimmy Vinnette, Danny Vinnette, John & Carol O’Donnell, Cheryl Vinnette, David F. (my husband) Ronnie & Joan Maceyko, Mark O’Donnell, Donna O’Donnell Figurski (me)  Bob Preller and Debbie Vinnette Preller.

Hugging those cousins tumbled me right back into yesteryear. It was as though no time had passed at all. Oh yes, we all looked older, but our minds remain young. And the greatest thing was that it seemed like only yesterday that we played on our bikes and shared our secrets. It truly proved to me that family is forever.They say that you can choose your friends, but you cannot pick your family. Well … I would pick my family any day. And, I can’t wait until the day comes again that I can hug all those Phoenix cousins.

I’m lucky to have some New Jersey cousins near by, too, and we share hugs frequently – like this time when Kathy Pavlik Spinelli and I met our Phoenix cousin, Michelle Makeyko Borkowski, in New York City. You can bet we not only caught up on our life stories – both east and west, but we also shared whole lot of  hugging.

(clipart compliments of Bing.com.)

(photos compliments of me.)

July 6, 2011 - Posted by | TidBits About Donna | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

