Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings by Donna #29 Influential Teachers

Teachers can be so influential.

Here are some of the teachers that greatly influenced my life.

Fran Barker, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California, was my daughter’s first grade teacher. I volunteered in her class. She strongly encouraged me to teach.

Lauralie Stanton, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California, was a 1st grade teacher who I worked with as a teacher assistant. We taught in the room next to Fran. Lauralie told me I was a natural-born teacher and made me promise to get my teaching credential. (I did!)

Doris Orenstein, Englewood, New Jersey, was the kindergarten teacher I worked with by day as I collected my BA credits by night. Doris truly loved her job, the children she taught, and all things educational. She instilled that love in me.

Nancy McDonough, Tenafly, New Jersey, was a second grade teacher. She was also my cooperating teacher for a year as I completed my student teaching. Nancy is, by far, one of the best and most dedicated teachers I know. I have been privileged to work with her. I am even more privileged to have kept her as a very dear friend for more than thirty years.

Lydia Bellino and Laurie Pessah of the Columbia Teachers College Writing Project were critical to the beginning of my writing career. They believed in my writing and encouraged me to continue and pursue publication.

Yes, teachers are truly an inspiration and are highly influential in so many lives – especially the lives of other teachers who they help to mold. I am so grateful for all of my teachers both past and yet to come. For we never stop learning.

My only wish is that my former students will someday think back to their 1st or 3rd grade years that they spent with me and remember how I might have influenced their lives – even in the most small way.

May 4, 2011 - Posted by | Musings by Donna | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

