Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #33 I Miss You Most On …

It’s Monday or It’s Thursday! The phone rings. My mother says, “That’s Donna!” Every Monday and Thursday as I leave school and climb into my car  between 4:00 and 4:30 to make my long commute home, I hit 18 on my speed dial. (Don’t worry I use a hands-free set.) I wait for my mother’s answer machine to pick up, then in a singsong voice I say, “It’s M-o-n-d-a-y! drawing out each syllable.  (or Thursday depending on the day.)

Each Monday and Thursday I know my mother waits for my New Jersey voice in her Phoenix home as she screens her calls. Quickly she picks up and for the next 20 to 40 minutes, our cross-country voices talk about everything … and nothing at all. It is our weekly ritual.

I’m going to miss my mother for all time, but I know I am going to miss her most … on Mondays and Thursdays.

Mother, though you have moved on to a far and distant place, our Monday and Thursday chat fests will always continue, if only in our minds and spirits.

I love you … and I always will miss you most … on Mondays and Thursdays.

May 22, 1922 / November 9, 2010

November 13, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, TidBits About Donna

2 Comments »

  1. this was very sweet mom. I am sure the family appreciated it…and most of all Nana. It is great that you were in touch with her that often. I know you are very busy, so to take that time every week is special. Something, as you know, that I haven’t quite managed to figure out yet!

    love you

    Comment by jared | November 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] the twins, are two.) My mom, as the oldest child of my Nana spoke. She wrote a beautiful piece (that you can read here!) about her feelings of the death. She read it with such eloquence and poise. She looked so tiny up […]

    Pingback by Usually I write about Birth…. « GrowingFlowers | November 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

