Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #30 Salsa on the Green

David and I flew to Chicago. Phil Matsumura, a good friend of ours, retired from the University of Illinois and we joined in the festivities with scientists from around the world to honor him. David spent the day in scientific meetings, but I was free to roam the streets of Chicago. I had no plan except to explore Michigan Avenue and parts unknown.

I stumbled onto Millennium Park. Music playing in the distance drew me towards the Great Lawn. There about a hundred people were moving to Latin music. It was salsa – a giant salsa lesson called, Salsa Boot Camp with Lisa. I joined.

How apropos since I was missing two salsa lessons back home with my friend, Vikram. So for one hour in the blazing sun and 94˚ temperatures, I moved to the beat 1, 2, 3 – 5, 6, 7. I was surprised at how much I had already learned from my instructor. Then it was time to return to the Hotel Allerton for lunch with the scientists before my afternoon adventures began.

(Photo  compliments of me.)

July 15, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, TidBits About Donna | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Donna the advanced student of salsa dancing!

    Comment by How Sheen | July 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

