Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #28 Bleu Cheese Chewing Gum

Bleu cheese chewing gum.! Yum! Yum! Sounds good to me. I love bleu cheese. I love it on salads and on sandwiches. It’s great in sauces. I’d probably even like it as a flavored ice cream or frozen yogurt. And yes, it’s marvelous on burgers, which I rarely eat. But I am ahead of myself.

David and I were in Detroit over the 4th of July visiting with both of his brothers and their families. On Saturday Pat and Patrice and David and I went to a restaurant on the corner of Main Street in Northvale. It was called Poole’s Tavern. It had a lovely garden area and that is where we had dinner. David had a turkey burger. Patrice had a salad with bleu cheese on the side. Pat and I chose hamburgers.

As I mentioned, I rarely eat burgers, but on occasion I just have to go for it. I ordered a burger – medium – slightly pink. I added two strips of crispy, nearly-burnt bacon, (Yes, I ordered it that way,) some bleu cheese, lettuce, tomato, and a huge slice of onion. It was to die for.  And if you eat too many of them, you probably will, but sometimes it is the perfect food … when ice cream or chocolate are not available.

We all ate and talked and enjoyed the perfect day. The sun was shining – the temperature just right. I noticed Patrice hadn’t eaten all her bleu cheese and she offered me some. I can never get too much bleu cheese, so I scooped some up to add to my burger. Then I bit into it. Her bleu cheese was different from mine. It tasted minty. I thought it strange, but I continued to chew … and chew … and chew.

Then I pulled the glob out of my mouth, (I know – gross!)  I held it gingerly between my thumb and forefinger for all to see. Thoughts of gum sticking to the plate from a former diner crossed my mind. (Even more gross!) Shocked expressions covered our faces. I was ready to call the server. Then another thought grazed my mind. I remembered Patrice popping a piece of gum in her mouth about an hour earlier. You probably figured this out by now. Turns out Patrice was not only sharing her bleu cheese with me, she was also sharing her slightly used minty gum with me. And that’s how I ended up with twice-chewed bleu cheese gum. Yum!

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.com)

July 4, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, TidBits About Donna | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. That is wildly disgusting…
    Did you all laugh so hard? Oh my gosh!

    Comment by kaya10 | July 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Kaya,

      I agree with you. It was wildly disgusting. But, we did laugh very hard. In fact, we are still laughing.

      Love,
      Granny the twice-chewed, bleu cheese gum chewer.

      Comment by Donna | July 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

