Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings #24 Silly Quizzes What Decade Fits Your Personality Best?

I like to take these silly quizzes that AOL or FaceBook offers. They’re fun. Sometimes they are spot on and sometimes I look and say, “Who are they talking about?” This personality quiz landed me in the 1930s. That’s even before I was born. A lot of it fits … some for good – some not. Take a peek.

Donna took the “What Decade Fits Your Personality Best?” quiz and the result is 1930’s.
You are strong and determined and have what it takes to get through life’s storms. You are very helpful to those around you– be it your friends, your family, or even a neighbor in need. You are a great leader and strong-willed person, and take challenges as a way to better yourself…But you also have a deep sense of warmth and nurturing for those you care about. You are well-rounded and tough because you have to be. You aren’t a “diva” but rather a humble person with admirable character. With more hard-working, quality like you, this world would be a much better place. By being able to turn a little into a lot, you know how to make life enjoyable even if it’s just through the little things.

I like the strong and determined part. That is definitely true. I will fight for something to the end if I believe in it. Just ask the insurance companies I battled for years after David’s (TBI) Traumatic Brain Injury in 2005. And I was front and center on the front lines during that time with David’s doctors, nurses, and therapists, too. I will doggedly fight for the well-being of any of my 1st grade students.

Throughout the years I have persistently and patiently continued to break down the doors of the publishing world to allow me to enter. I’ve made cracks in the foundation. Miss Emma Gets Her Way, A Star Wish, The Legend of the Silver Birch, and I’ll Never Grow Up all published by Scholastic Press are testaments to the sliver of cracks. Two chapters in two books are scheduled for publication – though I’m not sure when.

I don’t know about the great leader part, but I guess I am the leader of the six- and seven-year-olds in my class. But, great … you’d have to ask them.

I definitely take challenges – sometimes way too many. I never know when to stop. I am always adding more and more to my life. I figure . . . you only have one life … may as well fill it to the brim – and if it is over-filled, then mop it up and pedal faster. My challenge last summer was to take three more graduate classes. I don’t know what I was thinking, but I did it. I tackled them one at a time and although they were a lot of work, I did have fun. The satisfaction when they were completed and I got all of my “required by me” A’s, I was thrilled. So, yes, I guess I am strong-willed, too. The College of New Jersey did not give A+s. If they did, I would have worked for that. It’s just the way I am.)

I have to have a sense of warmth and nurturing since I choose to spend every Monday through Friday with twenty-five six- and seven-year-olds, so they got that right, too. And yes, I’m tough – just ask my students. It’s a mantra in my classroom. I point to myself and say, “I’m one.” They quickly pick up the chant. “She’ one tough teacher.” Then they point to themselves and continue, “That makes me one smart kiddle.”

The Diva part, they definitely have wrong. Of course, I am a diva – ask anyone in my family, but especially my sister-in-law, Carol, and her daughter, Maureen. In this circle, it’s a known fact that I wear the “queen” crown. Maureen wears the princess tiara. We have matching ones to prove it.

So, go ahead. Take the quiz to see what era you belong to. It’s fun!

March 19 at 7:44pm via Quiz MonsterTake this Quiz

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.com)

(Clip Art compliments of me – donnaodonnellfigurski.com)

May 22, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, Musings by Donna | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

