Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

On School #15 For the Sake of a Tissue

Disclaimer: The names in this musing are changed to protect the “infamous.”

The trees look lovely, the flowers beautiful as they burst into life. They are long-awaited and welcome after the drab, cold, and gray of the winter. But with all pleasure comes pain. (Who said that?) This pain is in the form of pollen – that yellow dust, which causes a myriad of health issues with so many people.

Allergies are horrendous this year. Most of the kids in my class have sniffy noses, itchy eyes, and puffy faces all because of the density of the pollen in the air. I’m no better. My allergies have flared like they never have before. It is miserable.

I think my class is, single-handedly, endangering the entire eco-system of the rain forest. Trees beware! We are using box after box after box of tissues. As waste cans pile high with crumpled, white blobs, I realize an imminent crisis is near. Our tissue box was near empty. We needed more – lots more. I sent the troops to the office to retrieve more. I called Aubrey, Martez, and Linney to my desk and gave each of them a note.

Aubrey’s note read “Our allergies are horrendous.” On Martez’ paper I wrote, “Our noses are running like faucets.” Linney carried the last note. “We need a box of tissues.” The kids were eager to run their mission to the secretary in the office, but I had to slow them. First I wanted them to rehearse their sayings. We chanted each ditty over and over again until I was sure that their message would be delivered secure. I figured it would give the secretaries a good laugh.

The kids practiced …

Our allergies are horrendous.

Our noses are running like faucets.

We need a box of tissues.

Now they were ready. Martez grabbed the hall pass and off they went hand in hand in hand down the hallway together. After a short time, the children returned. I asked each of them to repeat his or her  saying. This is how it translated.

Aubrey: “Our allergies are humungous! I groaned. “Horrendous,” I corrected. Aubrey shrugged.

Martez:  “Our noses are dripping like fossils.” My eyes flew open. “Fossils????? Fossils!” I repeated. “Dripping like faucets,” I said. “What’s a faucet?” he asked. One of the kids yelled out, “It’s what water comes out of when you want to get a drink.” Ahhhh,” said Martez.

I looked at Linney. What could go wrong with her phrase? I asked her to say her line. She did.

Linney: We need a box of tissues. Well at least the most important part of the message was relayed intact. No matter. Their mission was successful.

Aubrey and Martez each held a box of tissues. Linney held two. We can use these tissues to stop our dripping fossils caused by our humongous allergies.

Kids!  You’ve got to love them!

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.com)

May 1, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, On School | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

