Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Tidbits About Donna #26 Wearing Wigs

I spent part of my Spring break with my sister, Judy and her husband, Bob. They came to Hank’s house for Easter dinner. One day Judy and I went searching for my marriage certificate. (That’s another story.) Then we went shopping and had lunch together.  Later in the week we went to her house and after a delicious dinner of pieroghis stuffed with apricots, sauerkraut, cottage cheese, and lekvar (prune jelly), Judy and I went to her bedroom to play dress-up with her wigs again. We played wigs last summer.  Judy is on the better side of cancer, but the chemo and the radiation have stripped her of her hair. She has had to purchase several different wigs. Some are brown and some are blonde. We pulled them on and laughed and giggled.

We ran downstairs to show Bob and David and David’s father, Hank. They cracked up. They weren’t laughing at Judy. Bob was used to seeing her in a wig and she looked good in her wig. It was me they were laughing at. I looked hilarious. Sometimes I wore a wig when I was first married to David. It was in style then, but I haven’t had one on since. And this one just didn’t feel right. I felt like Dolly Parton in the big, long, blonde, poofy wig. I wanted to grab a microphone and start crooning a southern ballad.

Last summer we plopped the wigs on David, Bob, and even Hank. Imagine a blonde Dolly Parton-type wig on Bob with his black mustache and sideburns sticking out. It makes me chortle just thinking about it. David looked no better. And Hank, who is pushing 90 years old, was the ultimate comic. The guys were good sports. We took tons of pictures, but I promised them that I would post no evidence of our hilarity here. So sorry folks, I must keep my promise. But here are some pictures of Judy and me. Mine is from the 70s.

(Pictures compliments of me.)

April 25, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, TidBits About Donna | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I love the picture! (But I’d like to see the funny ones, too 😉 I remember when you tidied up in the basement and I got to see your pictures from that time. I think there were wedding photos too. I’m looking forward to the marriage certificate story.

    Comment by Betty | April 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

