Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

On School #14 Back-Eye

Disclaimer: The names in this musing are changed to protect the “infamous.”

The kids were sitting around me. I was instructing them on something … or other. A few children were standing behind me – some slightly to the side. They were chatting and fooling around – poking each other. They were not paying attention. Without missing a beat or turning around to look at them, I called their names. Aubrey, Mack, Sven keep your hands to yourselves.

I would have loved to see the surprised looks on their faces, but I did not want to turn around – not yet. I wanted to play it longer. “Aubrey, I saw you poke Sven with your left hand,” I said. His eyes popped open. “Mack, put that pencil down.” Mack dropped that pencil as if it were on fire. Finally I looked at them. Aubrey’s face was twisted in surprise. “How did you know?” he asked. “You couldn’t see us!” Mack said trying to convince himself.

Before I could answer, Martez yelled, “Back-Eye!”

“Yeah, Back-Eye” some of the other kids agreed and nodded. It took everything I had to not laugh.

Martez continued, “You know she’s a Marsling. She’s got eyes all over. Nothing gets past her.”

Then slowly and very deliberately without a word, I ran my fingers through my hair making sure that ALL of my “Back-Eyes” were properly covered.

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.com)

April 19, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, On School | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

