Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

On School #12 Smudge of a Kiss

Disclaimer: The name in this musing is changed to protect the “infamous.”

As I walked by Linney’s desk this morning, I noticed a funny splotch on her forehead – actually two near-identical splotches. They were reddish with a tinge of orange. I thought she had been hurt – perhaps bumped her head. As I looked more closely, I stifled a giggle. Then I crowed, “Linney, you’ve been kissed.” She wrinkled her forehead and peered at me quizzically. I pointed to the blotch on her forehead and stared … so did half the class. “Did your mommy kiss you goodbye this morning?” I asked. She nodded her head trying to hide her smile. Then she raised her hand to her forehead readying herself to erase her mother’s symbol of love. “Wait!” I yelled. “Don’t!” Then I told her this story.

Last week as I was leaving for my salsa lesson, Dr. Figurski, (my husband, David) commented on my coral-eggplantish lipstick. “What?” I asked. “Did I put too much lipstick on?” He said,”Yes!” I didn’t have a tissue to blot it, so I did the next most sensible thing. I leaned over and planted a big smudge of a kiss on his cheek. He raised his hand to his cheek readying himself to erase my symbol of love. “Wait!” I yelled. “Don’t!” I told him he had to leave it on until I returned … and he did!

(Clip Art courtesy of St. Valentine’s Day Animated Graphics by Jo)

April 9, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, On School, TidBits About Donna | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

