Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Tidbits About Donna #18 Ernie and Bert Lollipops and Balloons

Good night! Sleep tight! Don’t let the bedbugs bite. My mother often used to say that to me before bedtime and I said it to both of my kids, too. I bet a lot of mothers chant that little ditty as they tuck their little ones in. It’s like the saying See you later alligator – afterwhile crocodile or It’s raining cats and dogs. Who knows where those silly phrases come from. Who knows why they stick around from generation to generation. They must be the classics of ditties.

Just like the three special squeezes that I wrote about in an earlier post, I also had a special chant. I said it each night as I tucked my kids into bed. It started when Kiersten was a baby. She used to watch Sesame Street. That’s when we still had a TV. (We got rid of it when she was four years old.) She loved Ernie and Bert. So to calm her and help her relax before sleep, I would chant. “Good night! Sleep tight! Don’t let the bedbugs bite. Then after kisses and hugs, I would say, “Dream about Ernie and Bert and lollipops and balloons.” And, then … I would turn off the light. It worked like a charm – except when it didn’t.

Kiersten loved lollipops and balloons, too.

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.com)

April 3, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, TidBits About Donna

2 Comments »

  1. Actually I’m writing a research paper about that kind of phrases. It’s about the motivation of idioms, that means I’m trying to find out where they come from.

    Comment by Betty | April 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sounds like a fascinating topic. Have fun.

    Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | April 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

