Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

On School #9 Wacky Hair Day

On Friday my six-year-olds arrived at the door with their hair painted red, white, and blue. Some with pink. One girl had a curly hairpiece attached to the crown of her head. She looked ready for the prom. Later as I walked through the hallway, I laughed at a girl with her hair piled high – about one foot above her head. It was wrapped around an empty water bottle making her look like a cone head. I saw kids with spiked, green hair, some with coke cans in their hair, and many with little pony-tails wrapped in colorful scrunchies.

I pointed at one 3rd grader. “WACKY HAIR!” I said and laughed. She had red, yellow, green, purple, orange, and blue pipe cleaners sprouting from her head – looking a little like an alien. She giggled, pointed back at me and said, “WACKY HAIR!” It was Wacky Hair Day at my elementary school.

I did have wacky hair, but at least I didn’t look like those critters at the top of this post. I wrapped little clumps of hair into bunches and affixed about ten binder paper clips – the kind that have a spring opener and have wings that look like little butterflies – all around my hair. Then I attached multi-colored, rubberized, alphabet stickers to my hair. I looked like I was ready to take off or as if I had just touched an open electrical socket. Actually, more aptly I looked like a live alphabet. The kids quickly began to call out words they read on my hair. Hug! Husk! Red! The!

To take advantage of this learning moment, I passed out paper to the children and challenged them to find as many words as they could in my hair throughout the morning. I offered a large sticker to those who found the most and then I set into reading groups. During one group, I looked up to find about seven children standing near the reading table. They were a little ways off so as not to disturb the group, but they should have been at their own desks working on their projects. Before I reminded them to get busy, I noticed papers in their hands and pencils scribbling words that they found in my hair, and I laughed. I had become a living, moving Making Words Wall.

How WACKY is that?

(Clip Art compliments of Bing.com)

March 21, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, On School

2 Comments »

  1. so adorable!!! I love the learning moment! You could be a homeschooler!!

    Comment by kaya10 | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thanks! Maybe I will have a new profession when I move to Taos. Do I have to homeshcool my OWN kids … or can I borrow someone else’s kids?

    Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | March 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

