Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

On School #7 The Best Magic

Disclaimer: The name in this musing is changed to protect the “infamous.”

Gianna was, by nature, a serious child. She did her work each day and she took pride in doing it well. She followed the rules and never stepped outside propriety. She also took disappointments to heart, but rarely shared her feelings with others. This sometimes made it difficult to realize when Gianna was upset or hurt. But on Tuesday, on her way to the gym, Gianna had tears in her eyes. She refused to admit anything was wrong.

Halfway through the lunch period, I bumped into Gianna with her mother in the nurse’s office. Although her mother did not feel that Gianna was ill, she decided to take her home. After some discussion, we realized that Gianna was very disappointed about not having won the “Principal for a Day” contest. I then remembered the results were announced that morning immediately preceding Gianna’s tears.

With Gianna’s mother’s consent, I took Gianna aside and explained that there were a lot of disappointed children because everyone who entered really wanted to win. I also explained the slim chances of winning contests. Gianna seemed to understand, although it did not diminish her disappointment. I told her that I needed her help in the classroom that afternoon and I gave her a special job to help me. The idea of having a special job seemed to calm Gianna, and she returned to class with a cheery smile with her hand clasped in mine.

The next morning, the day before Principal Day, began normally for Gianna. But shortly before lunch, she complained of a stomach ache. Gianna had appeared well all morning and it was not apparent to me that anything was bothering her. But her tummy-ache complaint assured me that Gianna was still suffering from her disappointment. I suggested that I work a little magic.

Gianna looked at me skeptically as I asked her if she wanted to try. She resisted and said that magic never works. I told her that mine did. I’m sure she thought I was a little crazy, but she listened to me anyway. I directed her to rub her tummy three times to the right and turn around three times to the left. Then she had to say, “YOU LOVE I” three times. I could see that she was not convinced as she walked away. I pretended to get busy with my work, but occasionally peeked up to see what Gianna was doing. Soon she walked to the bathroom. A slight smile was on her face as she glanced at me before slipping inside. That afternoon Gianna said that she still had a stomach ache. I felt a total failure.

The next day was Principal Day. Again everything started fine, but soon Gianna was telling me of another tummy ache. I knew by now that this was going to be a rough day for Gianna. I suggested I use my magic again. She wasn’t keen on it, since it hadn’t worked the day before. I admitted that I accidentally forgot a couple of steps. “No wonder it didn’t work,” I said. Gianna hesitantly agreed to try one more time, and so I cast the new spell.

I told her to rub her tummy three times to the right and three times to the left. She had to turn around three times to the east and three times to the west. Then she had to whisper very quickly, “YOU LOVE I” three times to the earth and three times to the sky. I asked her if she was going to do it. She grinned and said, “Maybe.” I asked, “Can you do it here?” (at my desk)  She said, “NO!” and went into the bathroom.

When she returned she asked how long it would take to work. I told her we had to give the spell a little time, and since it was so close to lunch time we decided to check the results after she ate. I totally forgot about the magic spell and I think Gianna did too. But at the end of the day, as Gianna was getting ready to go home, she came up to my desk and said, “I am so lucky that you are my teacher.” I raised my eyebrows and said, “OH! Why?” She answered, “Because of you … I made it through the whole day.” I was still a little confused and probed further.

She said, ‘You make the best magic.”

(Clip Art compliments of WebWeavers Free Clipart)

February 26, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, On School | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. This is a cute story. What’s Principal Day?

    Comment by Betty | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you, Betty.
      Principal’s Day was just a special day that we had at my school one year. A student was chosen to follow the principal around all day and take over some of her duties … like visit classrooms. All the kids wanted to be chosen.

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | March 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

