Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

On School #6 Something in My Eye — Both of Them

Disclaimer:  The name in this musing is changed to protect the “infamous.”

Six-year-old Jayden stopped at my desk early one morning to tell me that he was going home for lunch. This was unusual. Jayden always ate lunch in school. I asked him if he had a note from his mother, which was normal protocol.

For no apparent reason, except that he was six-years-old and six-year-olds have their own built-in anxieties and fears, tears quickly filled his eyes. When he saw my look of confusion and concern, he immediately dabbed at his eye – supposedly to brush the tears away. I asked him what was the matter. With another covert swipe at his eyes, he blurted, ”I have something in my eye.” I raised my eyebrows. “… in both of them,” he added.

Jayden tried hard to be brave. He desperately tried to not show his tears. I nodded with understanding, then said, “Why don’t you get a tissue and try to get it out.”

He snatched a tissue from the box on the counter and began to blow his nose.When our eyes met again, he quickly said, ”I have something in my nose, too.”

I bit the inside of my lip to stifle a giggle. This was no time to laugh. Six-year-old Jayden was trying to save face. When I was finally able to trust my voice again, I smiled and said “Funny! That sometimes happens to me, too.”

I explained to Jayden that it was for his safety that I had to check with his mom. But before I sent him to the office to have the secretary call his home, I explained that the principal would be upset with me if I wasn’t extra careful with Jayden’s safety. A smile crept to the edge of his lips. Then in a conspiratorial voice, I asked, “You don’t want me to get in trouble – do you? He shook his head and with a little laugh sauntered out the door to the office.

(Clip Art compliments of (Clip Art Warehouse)

February 26, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, On School | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

