Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #17 Comic Books and Soda Jerks

I love to read. I will read anything – cereal boxes, nutrition labels, billboards, fortune cookies – just about anything — though I admit, I prefer reading books.

As a child growing up in Erie, Pennsylvania, I was fortunate. My father owned two pharmacies – not the contemporary type like CVS or Duane Reade, but the old-fashioned kind complete with a soda fountain and a soda jerk. I used to love to visit my dad’s pharmacy. He always let us choose a treat. A hot fudge sundae, a cherry coke, or double-scoop ice cream cone were some of my favorites.

But what I liked even more, or at least just as much, was to sit on the bottom shelf of the magazine stand right in front of the big, display window and read the comic books. We used to call them the “Funnies.” Archie and Jughead, Little Lulu, Caspar the Friendly Ghost, Charlie Brown, Donald Duck, and Mickey Mouse (and Minnie) were the ones I liked best. I didn’t go in for the Batman or Green Lantern comics. They just weren’t my style.

I could sit for hours and hours and let these “comical” characters entertain me. Double click on the photo  to enlarge it. I am the reader on the left.

(Clip Art compliments of Arthur’s Comic Book Clip Art)

February 24, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, TidBits About Donna | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Donna,

    I would love to visit your father’s pharmacy and read the comic books and eat some ice cream 🙂

    How Sheen

    Comment by How Sheen | February 25, 2010 | Reply

    • I’d love to turn back time, too – just for a little bit and revisit my father and his pharmacies. You could come with me. I’ll have chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream. How about you?

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | February 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

