Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings #14 To Give is To Receive

Valentine’s Days come and go. They bring flowers and chocolates, fancy cards and sweet thoughts. For some reason this day reminds us of our loved ones – our spouses, children, parents, and friends. Sometimes we all need a push – a little reminder to remember and acknowledge the people who are most special to us. With life’s busy ins and outs, it’s easy to forget to say, “I love you. I care about you. You are special to me. ” Those few simple words mean so much.

I’m lucky. David and I are lucky. No day passes that we don’t tell each other that we love the other – many, many times. But it is still fun to express it on that red day – Valentine’s Day.

This year, a few days before Valentine’s Day, I came home with a bunch of carnations. “For us!” I said. They were yellow – not even red, but we were going to start this celebration early.

Then I asked David what he would like for Valentine’s Day. He told me what he really wanted was for me to get a sonic toothbrush – for ME. Uhhhh, something is wrong with this request. Isn’t he supposed to ask for something for himself? David knew I’ve wanted a sonic toothbrush for a long time – ever since I bought one for him about a year ago. He really likes his. But it’s on the expensive side. So I have been putting it off. I finally agreed to get one. After all, I wanted to give him what he wanted.

But I pushed him farther – wanting to know what he would like for himself. “Just a good dinner – chicken curry or Mexican burritos,” he said. That’s easy.

I told him I would like perfume – Jessica McClintock. I love perfume, but I never buy it for myself. It is hard to justify the cost. Perfumes are expensive. Before David’s trauma, he often bought perfume for me. Now that he is unable to leave the house on his own, he has to rely on me to buy the perfume for him – to give – to me. Funny, I don’t mind buying the perfume, expensive as it is, when it is a gift from him.

When Valentine’s Day arrived, we each sent the other an eCard. Then I told David to close his eyes and handed him a gift bag. His eyes opened wide when he saw the raspberry cookies inside. Then I took the bag back and filled it with key lime cookies, then cinnamon-sugar, and finally chocolate coconut cookies. Each time David exclaimed, “Wow! You’ve got to be kidding! You’ve got to be kidding!” I laughed in delight as he opened each new surprise. I know that desserts are his favorite nowadays. It’s a small pleasure during these hard times for him. But the cookies were not the only surprise. I filled the bag three more times with milk chocolate M&Ms, strawberry cream-filled Musketeers, and Dove chocolates with raspberry cream.

And … as I write these words, chicken curry is simmering in the crock pot.

It is fun to give. It is fun to receive.

(Clip Art compliments of WebWeavers Free Clipart)

(Clip Art compliments of fg-a.com)

February 15, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, Musings by Donna | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. WOW! i want to be at your place next Valentines! Grandpa got pretty lucky eh? It looks like you had a wonderful Valentines! I went skiing and finally finished the paperwork for my job up there! I start thursday!
    much love to you both- great job Granny!
    ūüôā tres

    Comment by Treska | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. What a sweet story, no pun intended! Good thing you bought the toothbrush, you might need it kissing David after he ate ALL those sweets!

    Comment by Sanner | February 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

