Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings #13 Silence of the Snow

It was a “snow” day. School was closed. Time to sleep in, have a leisurely breakfast, curl up on the couch, and read my current novel. It’s a “gift” day. No errands. No doctor appointments. No responsibilities.

Snow days are special.

It’s a day to gaze out of the window, to watch the flakes fall to the earth and pile up. It’s a day to watch the neighborhood children, bundled in colorful snowsuits, slide down the hill on their sleds and saucers. A day to listen to their gleeful yelps as they fall into the snow to make snow angels, toss snowballs, or make snow kids. (Snowman sounds better, but I am trying to be politically correct.)

Snow days are special.

I went for a “blizzard” walk with my friend, How Sheen. The snow surrounded us in silence. It was beautiful. It blew first one way, then the other covering our faces with tiny prickles of flakes. Cars parked by the curb, seemingly abandoned, were shrouded in whiteness. Airplanes were grounded as flights were canceled. The absence of airplanes is a lovely sound. Most people were tucked away inside their warm homes – fireplaces blazing.  It was a time of quiet, pureness, and peace.

Snow days are special.

(Clip Art compliments of WebWeavers Free Clipart)

February 13, 2010 - Posted by | Musings by Donna | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. That blizzard walk was not easy. I thought we weren’t going to make it to Target. I had thoughts of turning back …

    Your appreciation for life is truly inspiring.

    Comment by How Sheen | February 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Funny! After we parted and I dropped my bags in my foyer, I continued on in the white swirl for another 40 minutes. I watched a car slip into its driveway – sideways. A four year old called to me to admire his snow castle, and I talked to my friend, Nancy, on the phone. She told me she was sitting by her blazing fire – toasty warm and that I was crazy for being out in the blizzard. A conversation with Nancy would not be complete without her affirmations.
    You should have come with me.

    Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | February 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. It’s funny how so many years can pass, and yet in a moment, we are met on a common path. They are all inside, warm by the fire, and we are out in the swirling white, revelling. I know you love the sunshine, sand and water. Isn’t there some similarity on earth between the sand of the shores and the blanket of white that now covers the land? Down here where I live we have a solid foot to two feet on the ground, but it doesn’t feel like a record breaker…except, it isn’t going away the next day. Happy Valentines Day to you and your family! Warm hugs. lol’s. ; )’s. (i) (i)’s. and fond thoughts from szu.

    Comment by szu | February 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

