Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

On School #2 Little Engine — All Grown Up

Disclaimer:  The name in this musing is changed to protect the “infamous.”

“I think I can! I think I can! I think I can!” said my little engine, Nevaeh. And I knew she could. And she did!

Those were the words my six year-old student, Nevaeh, chanted after I told her the story about the little engine. With cars piled high with holiday gifts for the children on the other side of the mountain, the little engine resolved to put every ounce of effort into cresting the hill. Slowly the engine chugged and pulled. Slowly his will power and determination overcame the challenge that many larger locomotives refused to undertake. The little engine believed in himself. And my little engine, Nevaeh, believed in herself, too. It was not easy, but like the little engine, Nevaeh’s will power and determination saw her through the perils of first grade – reading, writing, and math.

Now Nevaeh is all grown up. I hadn’t see her since she graduated from eighth grade. So it was great fun when I passed her in the hallway of school last week. I did a double take. “Nevaeh!” I said. She nodded. We both grinned. Nevaeh was at school as a substitute. My little engine was all grown up. I knew she would and she did.

(Clipart compliments of BING CLIP ART SCHOOL)

January 25, 2010 - Posted by | On School | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

