Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #9 Books and More Books

I loved reading the Nancy Drew books when I was in 2nd and 3rd grade. Kathy, one of my classmates  always had the newest and latest book. She lent them to all the girls. We had to sign up for them–almost like a library.

My school library was my favorite place to go to — even in high school. I remember going there often and taking home tons of books. I still do that. I  visit my town library about three times a week — picking up books or dropping them off. I can take out 50 books. I know the limit because sometimes I’ve had that many out and the librarian won’t let me take out any more. I have about 43 novels, biographies, picture books,  movies, and audio books sitting on my home library shelf now.

I have a long commute to school every day and if I did not have an audio book, I am sure my car would refuse to go.

The Nancy Drew books were the first books I remember getting hooked on, but now I am hooked on so many different kinds of books. Of course, I’ve read The Hobbit and The Trilogy of the Ring, and all of the Harry Potter books. Two summers ago my granddaughter, Treska, insisted that I read about vampires. So, yes, I read the Twilight series. I have to admit I almost stopped reading the first book, Twilight. I couldn’t believe I was reading about vampires, but I had promised Treska that I’d read it; so I continued. Soon, I felt myself drawn to Bella and Edward and Jacob and I looked forward to climbing back into their story. Before long, I had finished the series New Moon, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn. I’ve even watched the movie, Twilight. I marvel at how these authors can write such complex stories and keep their story lines straight. Amazing!

The wonder of fiction is that it carries you off to new worlds. It allows you to escape your present life, to renew yourself.

January 24, 2010 - Posted by | TidBits About Donna

2 Comments »

  1. I love reading Nancy Drew books too when I was a little girl. I also enjoyed watching the TV series too.

    I am a Romance Novel reader myself.

    Books are very important and it really shapes our lives. I think people should spend time reading a book on the bus and train instead of talking on their cell phones (loudly). Nowadays a lot of people do not buy the book itself and instead read the “books” via an electronic device. What do you think about that?

    Comment by How Sheen Pau | January 24, 2010 | Reply

    • I think audio books are great. I couldn’t get to school on my long commute without them. As far as other electronic devices, such as the KINDLE, I’m not sure. Since I don’t own one, I don’t feel qualified to answer with any veracity. But I can see their worth while traveling. I take a ton of books along with me, even if I am only going for a weekend. Imagine my suitcase if I am traveling for two weeks. I can not be without books. So, I suppose if they all fit into a KINDLE that would save on suitcase space. David commented, “As long as you read, it doesn’t matter how you do it.” Reading has become very difficult for him with his disability, so audio books are the answer for him. He is never without an audio book. It gets him through his hours and hours of exercises.
      I used to travel by train from McKeesport to Pittsburgh for college and I loved reading on the train — so soothing. I totally agree with you ban cell phones and promote books on public transportation .

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | January 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

