Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings #11 Traumatic Memories

The pain rushing through David’s head, the bumping of the gurney down the stairs and into the ambulance, the computer image of David’s brain filled with blood, the neurosurgeon telling me that David would not want to be a vegetable, my squeezing David’s hand in the recovery room — three times — our secret “I love you” message, the arrival of family and friends from around the United States, the sleepless nights, the constant ringing of the cell phone, the tracheotomy, the GI peg, the brain-drain, the machines that whirred, dinged, and whooshed are just some of the memories that remind me that the nightmare was real.

It is always hard to relive January 13th, but there is happiness, too. Happiness … because David and I have the good fortune to be able to relive those unwelcome memories, together.

To not be able to relive them … well, that is just unthinkable.

January 15, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, Musings by Donna

2 Comments »

  1. You went through a really difficult time. Even though you eventually had lots of family and friends around you, you basically had to suffer through my trauma and make all the decisions alone. It’s still difficult for you, but slowly I’m improving. I’m hoping I can help relieve your burden. Everything used to be much easier, but things dramatically changed. Even now, I don’t know that I could survive without your help. I’m glad our love is so deep that you stayed with me every minute. I needed you then, and I need you now. I hope you know how much I love you.
    David

    Comment by David | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. That is just so sweet! I am glad you both have each other, and that our whole family still has David. I love you both!

    Comment by Sanner | April 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

