Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

TidBits About Donna #1 Fifteen Minutes Before Midnight

David asked me to dance at 11:45 pm only fifteen minutes before the Saturday night dance ended at Y-Co in Erie, Pennsylvania. I was sixteen years old. I fell in love that night and I’m still in love with him today.

I don’t know if it was his cute face, his fresh Tide scent, or the way he held me in his arms for that last dance under the strobe light. And no, I don’t remember what the song was. You’d think I would.

The next morning I told my mother, I met the boy I was going to marry. I did marry David four years later and we have been dancing those last dances, sans strobe light, for  forty years.

Life is a dance. Sometimes it glides. Sometimes it stumbles.

January 10, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing

2 Comments »

  1. I hope everyone gets the opportunity to dance!

    Comment by Sanner | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. As Lee Ann Womack sings, “when you get the choice to sit it out or dance — I hope you dance.” I’m going to dance through life with David who started it all.

    Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | January 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

