Donna O'Donnell Figurski's Blog

It's All About Me!

Musings #10 Salsa

1,2,3, 5, 6, 7 . . . No, I didn’t forget 4. That’s the basic step in salsa. I started salsa lessons in October. I can’t believe I am taking dance lessons. It’s the last thing  I ever thought would be a part of my life. And … it all started with walking.

My neighbor and walking partner, How Sheen, and I began to meet about twice a week last summer to walk and talk through our neighborhood. As we trekked our nightly three miles and one hour walk, we shared tidbits about our lives. I learned that How Sheen loved to dance. I gasped when she told me she took six dance lessons a week. When she suggested we take a lesson at the local dance studio together, I declined. That’s not for me, I assured her, but, the seed was planted.

A few months later we agreed to sign up for salsa, but the idea was nixed when she had to take more dance classes in the City – making it a total of nine lessons for her. She had no more nights left for our local dance studio.

Then one night David’s and my friends, Aparna and Vikram, came for an evening visit.  I mentioned the salsa lessons and Vikram thought that would be fun. His wife, Aparna, encouraged him to take the lessons with me. David encouraged me. And so once a week Vikram and I whisper 1,2,3,5,6,7 as we stumble across the dance floor executing our right turns and left turns, doing the cross body check and working on our styling. I’m no longer a beginner. I just started my Intermediate 1 class, but I’m still stumbling and having fun.

January 10, 2010 - Posted by | Anything Writing, Musings by Donna

2 Comments »

  1. Dancing in any form is awesome to participate in. You can be stressed out from work and/or life but once you step on the dance floor and proceed with your lessons, the stress and worries just fade away.

    Dancing is a great form of exercise. It is a skill that you can use at a party or any social night. You meet great people who enjoy it just as much as you.

    It took a lot of courage on Donna’s part to do this but it was worthwhile. She always dance with a big grin on her face. She also moves with natural grace.

    Comment by How Sheen Pau | January 11, 2010 | Reply

    • How Sheen, I so agree with your “stressed out” comment. When my house was torn up as we were having the hardwood floors installed and my life was once again turned inside out, I was convinced to go to the dance studio. David insisted I go. He knew it would be a release valve. And he was right. Once the music started, the rest of the world floated away and numbers filled my head … 1,2,3,5,6,7.

      Comment by donnaodonnellfigurski | January 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fight Stroke

Resources for stroke patients, caregivers, and family members

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Braingirl and Next Doors Cat

Life after Traumatic Brain Injury

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Miss Clara's Corner

Be the change you wish to see in the world -Gandhi

Views from a Window Seat

Jeannine Atkins on Writing and Stuff

making our way

Making our way in the mountains

In An Instant Your Life Can Change Forever

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts Blog

